Asus Eee Pad Transformer Prime First Impressions.

The Transformer Prime is the first quad core tablet on the market. It’s running Android 4.0, Ice Cream Sandwich, like I said has a quad core NVIDIA Tegra 3 1.3ghz processor, 10.1″ Super IPS + Gorilla Glass Display, 1GB RAM and 32gb of internal storage. Here are my first impression of the Transformer Prime.

Hardware/ Design

When I first held the Transformer Prime I knew right away the built was solid. The back of the Prime has a full aluminum metal cover in a color Asus calls “amethyst gray”. You will also find an 8mp camera with single LED flash. The Prime is incredibly thin at 8.3mm thick, that makes it the thinnest tablet on the market. It’s also fairly lightweight, weighing in about 586 grams. At the top is the power button with an inserted led notifier, the right side you’ll find the 3.5mm headphone jack, at the bottom is the proprietary charing phone which also doubles for the docking station, and on the left side is the volume rocker and mini-HDMI port. Overall the hardware of the Asus Transformer Prime is incredible, very thin, lightweight, while using material like Gorilla Glass for the Display and metal aluminum on the back.

Software

Out of the box, the Prime was running Android 3.2, Honeycomb. I tested it out for about 45mins before updating to Android 4.0. The tablet felt slow on Honeycomb and it did not feel like a zippy tablet. The browser was incredibly laggy and I was quite disappointed. Once I updated the tablet, the tablet felt a whole lot smoother, swiping through homescreen was the smoothest I’ve seen on an Android Tablet. I also loved the new feature on ICS on the tablet like screen captures and swiping away open applications. I also like Asus’ custom UI. The notification tray shows options for IPS mode for indoor use and Super IPS for outdoor use which basically increases the brightness dramatically. The are also modes we recognize on laptops like power saving mode, balanced mode and performance mode.

Performance

I did expect the browser on this tablet to be fastest than any device I’ve ever used. The truth is. It’s probably no faster than Samsung’s Galaxy S II devices, Apple iPad 2 or iPhone 4S. I haven’t done any official speed test, but from what I am seeing, they are about the same. What really steps the Transformer Prime is gaming. The Tegra 3 Processor allows developers to create high resolution and graphic intense games, I’ve download a couple Tegra 3 games, and it’s pretty incredible how detailed the graphics are.

I’ll be testing the Asus Transformer Prime over the next few days. Unfortunately I could not find the keyboard dock anywhere in stock. Stay tuned for the full review.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Wasim

I'm a college student. I'm all about technology. It's something that comes natural to me, like breathing. I like to watch sports, football and baseball. Thanks for checking out our Blog.

2 responses to “Asus Eee Pad Transformer Prime First Impressions.”

  1. Randell Ronca says :

    Hmm it appears like your website ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I’m an aspiring blog writer, but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any points for novice blog writers? I’d certainly appreciate it.

  2. Computer repairs Portishead says :

    Just the information I was looking for, for my research project. Great. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

