iPhone 4S: Worth the Wait?

So, the moment nearly everyone who cared about Apple waited for: the showing of the new iPhone, was probably wasted in the eyes of every single one of Apple’s true fanbase. All of us “techies” waited an extra 4 months on top of the usual annual release of a new iPhone, just to show us that it now has a dual core A5 chip, and an 8 mega pixel camera that can now shoot 1080p HD video. Oh, and there will also include a beta version of Siri, “a humble personal assistant” as Apple declares it to be, which acts as an updated version of your “genius” and actually listens, responds, and completes a majority of your commands. These features sound and look cool, but all I’ve got to say is, “that’s it? No larger screen, new design, or capacitive home button?” 16 months of complete secrecy and rumors just for 3 new features, besides iOS 5, which we already knew about since June? Maybe if iOS 5 was introduced during the presentation of the iPhone 4S, it just might have been more exciting, but “beggars can’t be choosers.” Of course people are going to buy it, considering the iPhone is probably one of the top-selling and best smart-phones out there. It will sell especially to those who didn’t purchase the 4 last year, and instead stuck with their older iPhone, whether it was the 3G or 3GS. Apple will now also have Sprint customers running for the 4S, now that Sprint has been added to the list of current carriers along with Verizon and AT&T. Unfortunately, T-Mobile didn’t make the cut. But hey, that’s what the unlocking of phones is for. I personally don’t mind or care about this release, considering I’m totally fine and happy with my current 4. It helps me get whatever I need to get done, and does it with minimal glitches and reboots. I’ve had iOS 5 installed for the past week and as of now I have no thought about jail-breaking my phone again, at least for a long while. As for a new iPhone I’m pretty sure I can wait for the iPhone 5 to be released, or at least shown in June 2012 to upgrade, just as a good majority of others believe. Which, hopefully Apple will return to that same period of time in which the iPhone was shown in the early summer and then released within the next couple of months, which was delayed this year by Verizon’s release of the iPhone 4 on February 10, 2011. However, I do feel bad for everyone else out there who was just as hyped up as I was. I wouldn’t doubt that there were plenty of people that were even more hyped than myself. I wasn’t planning on getting the new iPhone until my upgrade was available next year, but I guarantee that those who were dying to see the unveiled iPhone were disappointed at the very least to find out that the 4S is just an update of the 4. So, back to the subject: Is the iPhone 4S worth the wait? To most customers, yes indeed. These would include Sprint customers, as well those who currently own a 3G or 3GS. For these specific groups of people, I would say it’s definitely worth buying. On the other hand, I do know deep down that there are plenty of iPhone 4 customers who are going to buy this, just for the hell of it. These customers should really give a second thought before they typically waste their money and a 2 year contract just to upgrade towards a few new features. If you’re an average person that uses their phone for calling, some web browsing and to play with a couple of apps here and there, then stay with what you got. And to those who use their phone non-stop to the point where it could replace your own computer, then by all means go for it.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Jordan

Getting to know phones as well as keeping up-to-date with the advancement of technology is a great hobby of mine, and the only way I can make it more fun is by sharing my views with the rest of the world. Enjoy reading and feel free to give some feedback!!

Leave a Reply

